The Steps to Get a Driver License
Once New York State residents are 16 or over, they can apply for a New York driver license. This process has four steps to ensure that you are ready to have your license.READ MORE
Personal Injury Protection
New York State Law requires this insurance. The minimum requirement is $50,000 to pay for medical expenses, loss of income, and other miscellaneous expenses regardless of fault. This coverage provides the following benefits.
- Medical expenses - covers your various medical expenses
- Loss of income - a maximum of $2,000 a month or 80% of your current monthly income (whichever is less)
- Other expenses - $25 a day for reasonable expenses
- Death benefit - $2,000
Bodily Injury Liability
Required by law, bodily injury protects you if you are responsible for an accident in which someone is injured or killed. The minimum requirement is $25,000/$50,000, which means that the insurance company will only pay up to $25,000 per person injured and up to $50,000 per accident. So if there is more than one person injured, the most you are covered for is $50,000.
Optional Basic Economic Loss (OBEL)
In a recent ruling by New York State, maximum loss of income received from no-fault was increased from $1,000 to $2,000 a month for 36 months. However, with a $50,000 limit, coverage may be used well before the 36 months. This is where OBEL comes in to help you out. This coverage provides an extra amount on top of the no-fault limit.
Property Damage Liability
Required by law, property damage covers the damage your vehicle causes to someone else's property, such as your car running into someone's house or car. The minimum requirement is $10,000, which means that the insurance company will only pay up to $10,000 for damage your vehicle does to someone else's property.